Maine IS Vacationland

August 1, 2006 at 12:32 pm Leave a comment

CastineMaine is a great place to live and although I love to travel, “there’s no place like home.” Born and bred here, I’ve become accustomed to the summer influx of tourists. No complaints there. It makes life a little more interesting as long as I can avoid where most of the crowds gather (and being a native Mainer, I know how to do this).

As a teacher, I also look forward to the summer, vacation, and my dreams of rest, relaxation, and chance to be a tourist in my favorite state. Each year this dilusion is replaced by the reality that my vacation is everyone else’s vacation.

I love company and seeing family and friends, don’t get me wrong. In fact haven’t even had anyone staying with me this summer. However, between plans to spend time with relatives and friends making their yearly pilgrimage to the state, weddings, and other important family and various planned functions that seem to only take place this time of year, the summer is almost gone and I’ve yet to venture out on my own explorations. Instead I’ve been tagging along with others who are here only for a short time.

This isn’t a complaint, mind you, only an observation. It is just what happens in Maine. Seeing those you love is a great thing…it is just crammed into two months a year.

My husband and I are still looking forward to at least one camping trip with the now running VW van (another story for another time). We’re hoping to host at least one cookout for the Thursday cookout group. I’m determined to still read the three or four books sitting on my shelf…..all in the next four weeks. Summer isn’t done yet, but it certainly has been quickly flying by.

It doesn’t hurt to mention that a good portion of this summer has been fixing up my house in South Portland so that we can put it up for sale. (A great little home for anyone interested out there and priced to sell!) This ordeal started in late June and we hope to finish it up by the end of the week. Cleaning after tenants moved out, refinishing floors, painting walls, ripping out old structures in the basement, taming the landscape, and various other duties have consumed day after day after day. We could have been done by now, but damn, I’ve decided to take a few days off here and there. Today we have the driveway increased in size and paved while I work on the gardens in the back yard.

So speaking of the house, I must head out for a quick jog and to greet the pavers at the project under discussion. Once the chore of the S.Portland house is done my summer vacation can REALLY begin….just in time to head back to school.

Entry filed under: Everyday Life. Tags: , .

Greeness Swedish Bikes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

