Knitting Wraps

August 20, 2006 at 3:11 pm 2 comments

Image of Very Easy Ripple ShawlIn my last knitting class, my teacher was in the process of knitting a beautiful wrap. Inspired and bored with the basic knit and purl, I looked for a simple pattern that could help me to grow as a knitter.  Cruising through the free patterns at the Lion Brand site, I came across  the “Very Easy Ripple Shawl“. I have to agree, after two re-starts and a check at  Knitting Help.com, I was on my way.

Although my goal was to knit this for my brother’s wedding in July, I didn’t begin it until the start of August. Basically, the pattern is a series of 4 varied rows that creates the “ripple”: row 1-knit, row 2-mostly purl, row 3- a combinations of adding and dropping stitches that creates the unique pattern, and row 4-knit. After a few sets of following the pattern, I now just carry my piece of work with me and don’t need to refer to the guides. I was amazed to see the pattern appear after a short time working. It was like, “Hey, look what I can do!” (which I did say that to my husband).

wrapHere is my creation , so far, as seen sitting on my favorite knitting throne (my foldable Crazy Creek chair). This is definitely an easy knit for those wanting to get a little more creative.  Materials used:

  • Yarn- Frog Tree, sprot weight, 85% Pima Cotton and 15% silk. (Very soft!) Color- 830, approximately 155 yards per skein.
  • Needles- #6, 24 inch circular addi TURBO (I knit mostly with the circular TURBO’S.) The 24″ seem a little short, but the 32″ were too long.

The color was chosen to go with a lime green dress. If I make another, I think I might try using some lovely burned orange alpaca yarn I got on eBay. I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Entry filed under: Knitting.

Music in the Air Reading List

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 971796 Blog Verification  |  August 25, 2006 at 9:08 am

    971796 Blog Verification

    971796

    Reply
  • 2. Mary Beaudet  |  December 2, 2006 at 4:50 pm

    Kelly,
    Thanks for bringing your Blog to my attn. At some point I’d like to peruse its entirety. I’ve gotten back into knitting and have completed 2 ponchos and working on a third. The wraps look beautiful and have helped me to make up my mind on my next project. 🙂

    Mary

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,791 hits

