Music in the Air

August 20, 2006 at 2:46 am 1 comment

Click to Link to Yahoo! Maps Living in Freeport, ME has its blessings and curses. Today was a day for both.

The distance from the “wedding patio” at the Harraseeket Inn is twice a softball throw away. Upon my return from running errands and removing yet another load of memorabilia from my almost empty storage unit (3 p.m.), I was anxious to settle into my hammock for a bit of relaxed reading. Before even leaving the house, I was bombarded by an incredibly bad and loud version of a Dave Matthew’s tune. Great! The wind was blowing just right so that not only I, but all of my neighbors in a 3 mile radius, could experience the truly atrocious cover band playing at a wedding reception at the Harraseeket Inn.

Now this band was so awful (well, O.K., a couple of their songs were in tune) that I thought about calling the inn to find out their name in order to avoid them at any cost in the future. Additionally, this band was also as loud as they were bad. But, not wanting to be a pain on someone’s special day, I bit my tongue, didn’t call to complain, and listened to the music until I left the house around 7:15 p.m. (with the band still playing) this evening. Believe me, they didn’t improve over time!

(It must be some reception because I’m writing this at 9:50 p.m. and the party is STILL going strong [minus the band, thank God!].)

After listening to poorly covered 80’s tunes for about four hours, I decided to follow my neighbor’s lead and head up to the L.L. Bean Summer Concert around 7:15 p.m. for a tonal change. Hopping on my “intown bike”, I took a quick ride to the concert area and settled in for a much improved listening atmosphere and a super little concert from Sister Hazel.

I’m not one for following bands and buying CDs, but as a fan of their hit “All for You”, I was curious to hear more. Singing songs from their past albums and their new one to come, the audience clearly enjoyed the concert. I was pleasantly suprised by their repertoire and happily entertained. One of the encore songs, written for his wife and sung by lead singer Ken Block, was a definite treat.

I really enjoyed the musical talents of all band members but was especially impressed by the clear, fantastic voice of Andrew Copeland. Perhaps I will by a new CD after all.

Although the Freeport crowd wasn’t too wild and crazy (think about it: my 75 year old neighbor had staked out his concert seat two hours early), they certainly were appreciative. All in all, thanks L.L. Bean for the free concert, and many thanks to Sister Hazel for a great evening….you saved my ears!

Entry filed under: Everyday Life. Tags: , , , , .

Great Home For Sale Knitting Wraps

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tom  |  August 27, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    The only thing worse than bad wedding bands, are bad wedding DJs. You know the ones. They are the ones that want to come out, and be your friend, and have you play games during the reception, and they’re constantly saying stupid things over their microphone, when what you really want them to do is to shut up, and just play something you can do the white man’s dance to. The only thing worse than an asshole, is an asshole with a microphone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

