A Walk…Extended

November 2, 2006 at 11:37 pm Leave a comment

There’s nothing like an afternoon walk in the fall before the sun goes down (around 4:30 p.m. at this point). My husband, our dog, and I left early enough to savor the dimming light. However, as we walked, all I could think about was how much school work I needed to do, the clothes that needed folding, and the preparations still undone for our upcoming yard sale on Saturday. (Yes, the yard sale is late in the season but we are still hopeful.) Needless to say, I was distracted and not looking forward spending much time away from the house.

Then there was the question as we neared the center of Freeport: “Do you want to walk to Gritty’s for a beer?” Sudden angst consumed me but I said, “O.K.” and began to stress about how much work I would finish before the night was through.

There’s nothing like a walk on a cold November evening to help you to clear your mind and realize what is more important than work: a walk with your husband AND a fresh Christmas Ale (a potent treat) at Gritty’s in Freeport. (Yes, we are members of the mug club.)
Our puppy survived a short and well deserved rest outside as we consumed our single beverage. It tasted good and was a great way to relax. The walk home was brisk and refreshing. My reward for going on this extended walk? Relaxation, time with the ones I love, and a good German dinner that is being prepared for me as I write.

Work can wait…at least a little while.

Entry filed under: Everyday Life. Tags: , , .

Playing with Technology Waiting to Wait

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

