Hey Sis’, Your Sweater is Done!

December 31, 2006 at 6:29 pm 1 comment

Sweater and KodieMerry Christmas, Sis! O.K., so I’m a little late but it is finally done. Hope you don’t mind my trying it on as Kodie and I decided to model it together. I’ve learned a little knitting lesson this year as far as gift giving goes: START EARLY!!

Actually, this sweater knit up very quickly having started it on our Thanksgiving trip to New Paltz, NY. The only problem with my timing was that I was knitting another sweater with a much smaller gauge and bigger size for my husband’s Christmas gift. That one is still in progress but should be done soon.

I did run into a couple problems with getting this project going. First, I wanted to findbig sweater the right yarn. My sister was hoping for an over-sized, plain colored sweater in which to wear to work on colder days. She has a business in which she supplies and tends plants in various buildings and offices. So, not only did the yarn need to be warm but also washable in case it was dirtied when carrying and caring for different plants. I finally decided on Lion Brand’s Wool-Ease, Thick and Quick. It is “thick” and it knits up very “quick”! This yarn is great for bulky projects, knits up nicely and is very soft and warm.

Finding a pattern became the next challenge. I settled on a Cleckheaton Gusto 10 Funnel Neck design. This pattern has three similar styles to knit. I chose the most basic (seen in the blue on the right). This pattern was very easy to follow. However, even though I tested the gauge before beginning, it knit up much bigger than expected. I ended up having start the sweater a couple of different times with a reduced number of cast-on stitches.

Stitching

The pattern calls for 51 stitches to begin the smallest sized sweater. I ended up with casting on 45 stitches per side or a total of 90 stitches as I knit the bottom portion of the sweater in the round. The remainder of the pattern was followed basically as suggested. My sleeves seemed a little large when sewing them into the top, but with a little finagling, everything managed to fit.

Finished product and details:

  • Gauge- 2 stitches per inch
  • Cast on 45 stitches.
  • Needles
    • US #13/24″ addi TURBO for neck and sleeves
    • US #13/32″ addi TURBO for body (knit in round)
  • Yarn
    • Lion Brand Wool-Ease, Quick and Thick.
    • Color- Wheat, 402
  • Measurements
    • Across- 20 3/4″ (52 cm)
    • Circumference- 43″ (109.2 cm)
    • Sleeve from beginning of neck down- 27″ (69 cm)
    • Body from beginning of neck down- 25.5″ (65 cm)
Entry filed under: Knitting.

We’re Waiting!!! Happy New Year!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dylan’s Sweater « By Chance…..or Not  |  January 23, 2008 at 12:39 am

    […] chunky knit sweaters that goes pretty fast. Dylan liked the sweater that I knit for his mom (see Hey Sis’, Your Sweater is Done!) but wasn’t too keen on the rolled neck and sleeves. To help with his styling preferences, I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 75,850 hits

