Happy New Year!

January 1, 2007 at 3:14 pm Leave a comment

photoHappy New Year from Freeport, ME.

Staff photo by Derek Davis

Freeport, ME? or is it L.L. Bean, Maine? Either way, this organization always has something going for the major holidays of the year that brings towns people and tourists out and gathering in the town center (of Freeport, ME, that is.) We happen to miss this event (although we ran to the windows at midnight to see if we could get a glimpse of the advertised “light show”- no chance) and instead, ventured down our quiet little street to spend the evening with friends. I really enjoy being able to walk to a New Year’s celebration!

Great food, fantastic company, a challenging game of Cranium, and the traditional midnight viewing of the ball drop in Times Square made for a relaxing and fun transition to 2007.

I love the beginning of a new year. It is a great chance to reflect on what you’ve accomplished (or not) and to move forward in the future. With this in mind, I’m a big fan of new year resolutions. Why not “take stock” in your successes, mediocrities, and failures and look at how you can improve yourself and the world around you. And what better time than the beginning of a new year….a natural starting point.

Instead of pondering my goals for this coming year and registering them mentally, I’ve decided to write them down, here, so that I can look back from time to time at the things I felt were important at 9:16 a.m., Jan. 1, 2007 and to see if I’ve had any “follow through”. OK…. here we go:

2007 New Year Resolutions

Write in my blogs at least once a week. Notice the “s” on that word “blog”. I actually have three of these on-line journals. My classroom blog at http://yorksci.wordpress.com/ is updated quite frequently as I use it daily with my students.

This blog, ByChance, tends to be my second most edited. However, I’ve fallen down on sharing my daily thoughts. My third blog, In the Trenches, had a good start in 2005, a change to a different server in 2006, and nothing since early November. This blog is meant to journal about technology in education and hasn’t been well maintained. An entry, once a week, in this journal shouldn’t be too much of a challenge.

Why do all of this blogging? Because we all need to practice our writing skills and the best way to do that is to write for an audience! Besides, it feels good to release thoughts and frustrations into words. Ahhh….

Eat more healthy and get in shape. Isn’t this the typical New Year’s resolution. Maybe so, but it is an important one. The holidays can often drain you of the good habits you’ve tried to practice over an entire year, so I often need a new beginning…a restart. I started getting up at 5:15 a.m. at least 3-4 mornings a week to exercise. This practice, once getting over the initial early morning shock to my system, has been great. The energized, healthy feeling from my morning takes me through the rest of the day. Trying to get a consistent exercise program going after school just doesn’t seem to work for me anymore. The mornings are my time!

As far as food goes, I’m typically a healthy eater but I really need to get better at cooking healthy meals for other than just myself. This is something I’ve struggled with since becoming married. My husband more particular about his foods than I realized and things that I relish won’t come near his plate. My goal is to come up with some great healthy recipes that we both like! Suggestions that don’t include carrots or vegetables mixed together are greatly appreciated.

Be more environmentally conscious and considerate. Recycling and reusing are part of my everyday life, but I feel I could really do more. I’ve ordered a couple books (see my reading page) and hope to get some ideas on how I can take things a step further. Influencing my students in this area has also been a constant concern with me, but I can do more. Stay tuned for strategies in this area.

Its the little things that matter. I really believe that life is about connections with others and that the little things, although they may be easy to ignore or put off, are often the ones that matter the most. A quick phone call, a visit, running an errand for someone else, a note in the mail, an email, a little bit of time…. In our busy lives it is so easy to forget or put off the little things that keep us connected to people that are or were important in our lives. When we don’t make that quick phone call or put off that visit we lose touch with someone that has held a place of importance and soon they’re gone, busy with their own lives, and lost. I try to keep connected with those that I care about but I need to be better. It’s the people in our lives that make it rich and interesting.

Remember my blessings. All too often we are focused on more. What can we do to get ahead and to be better? Sometimes it is important to remember what we do have and how great it is. I am incredibly lucky. I have a roof over my head, a  challenging job that keeps me on my toes, friends and family who care, and a marriage that gets better and grows stronger every day. Whenever I decide to complain, I want to remember what it is that I have and to appreciate where I am in my life! There are always difficulties, frustrations, and issues to be dealt with. A goal for me this year is that when dealing with things that can be hard to handle, I need to remember to slow down, take a deep breath and look at the positives….

So…. look out 2007, here I come!

Entry filed under: Everyday Life.

Hey Sis’, Your Sweater is Done! Knitting in Freeport

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

