Knitting the Coronet

March 24, 2007 at 2:22 pm Leave a comment

Time for my most recent knitting project, the Coronet. I chose this little hat pattern so that I could practice a new skill: knitting cables.

Using a skein of red Lamb’s Pride yarn purchased at a yard sale last year, I knit this little project up in just a few days. However, while knitting, I thought that the hat length was going to be too long so I shortened the pattern length just a bit. Dumb idea. I had to pull out the decreases and follow the pattern as instructed so the hat covers my ears.

My pictures are pre-blocking so the bottom edge looks a little off. I need to do a little reshaping to get the edge aligned correctly and then it should look like the original pattern.

Knitting Details:

  • Pattern– the Coronet, a free pattern from Knitty.com
  • Yarn
    • Lamb’s Pride, worsted, 85% wool/15% mohair
    • Color- M-81, Red Baron
  • Needles-
    • #8 double-pointed needles
    • #8 16″ circular. (I actually used 24″ until I started the decreasing because I couldn’t find any 16″ in the Freeport, ME radius. They worked fine.)
    • Cable needle.

    Sizing-

    • I knit the size small and I don’t have a small head. You do the figuring.
    • Length knit before decreasing- 8.5″ to 8.75″

Thoughts: This was a great first cabling project. Cables are really quite easy, although I did get the cable front and cable behind instructions mixed up when I first started. (I didn’t read the directions carefully.)

New to me was also doing a “provisional cast on” and grafting with a “kitchener stitch” (another kitchener stitch site) which were needed to join the ends of the cabled band. Picking up stitches on the band wasn’t a new skill but one that I haven’t done very often so this was good practice for a common knitting practice.

Next Project: Something pretty for me! I’m off to buy yarn and a pattern today so it may be a while before I have anything new. Maybe…..

Entry filed under: Knitting.

Life is Fun Welcome Home Kineo

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

