Cleaning Your Home the Earth Friendly Way

August 22, 2007 at 12:45 pm 7 comments

My cousin recently asked me about earth friendly alternatives for cleaning her home after reading about toxic chemicals contained in the disposable Swiffer cleaning pads/cloths. I don’t know about the dangerous chemical claims for this product, but I do see its use as just another convenience item that ends up in a land fill (See Is the Swiffer Eco-Friendly? and Green or Green Washing.)

While doing a little Swiffer research, I came across a great posting on The Worsted Witch and her Eulogy for Swiffer. In this post, the Worsted Witch gives her reasons for ditching the Swiffer while making a pitch for more environmentally friendly cleaning products such as Aubrey Organics’ Earth Aware Household Cleaner, Ecover Floor Soap, Super Pine cleaner, and others. She has a nice description of each including product claims as Earth conscious cleaners.

Personally, I’ve been using Simple Green for years. Touted as “an environmentally-sensitive non-toxic cleaner/degreaser”, this product is biodegradable and works great for many cleaning situations. If anyone can refute their claims of being safe for the environment, please let me know as I haven’t heard any up to this point.Natural Citrus Dishwashing Liquid 25 oz.

I’ve also taken a liking to some of the Seventh Generation products; their dish soap, in particular. My husband claims it doesn’t “bubble-up” as well as the petroleum based dish soaps but, frankly, that isn’t that important to me. It cleans well, has little impact on my eczema (a dry skin condition), and is better for the environment. If you visit their website you can sign up for coupons and their Non-Toxic Times.

Also posted on The Worsted Witch are links to recipes for making your own cleaning products. My grandmother taught me the power of baking soda, vinegar, and lemon. There are many resources that tweak this combination for your cleaning issues.

Some other sites that can help you with this are:

What ARE the dangerous chemicals and how can they harm you? Here are some links that tell you this information and, in some cases, suggestions for “green” cleaning.

We all know it takes extra time and effort to not purchase those ready made products for cleaning our home. I know I’m guilty, despite my reliance on Simple Green. However, if we all start taking little steps to make changes in our cleaning habits perhaps we can phase out our dependence on dangerous toxins in our life.

Make a change today. Pick one product, find a good environmental substitute, and commit to your new way of cleaning. As you run out of your more chemically enhanced cleaners, replace them with a healthier, earth friendly solution. It can be done. Start now!

p.s. Happy Birthday, Mom!

Entry filed under: Healthy Living/Healthy Earth. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

China Adoption Resources Neckdown V Neck Cardigan

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Denise  |  August 22, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    My best friend works for Simple Green, and says while many competitors and Green-extremists bash Simple Green for not putting their ingredients on their label; they can prove their claims. She says they have done millions of dollars in lab testing to prove their claims of non-toxicity and biodegradability (sp?). The reason they don’t put their ingredients on the label is for the same reason that Coke doesn’t – the formula is a trade secret. It never even occurred to me that I have no idea what’s in Coke until she said that… and I DRINK that!

    Reply
  • 2. bychance  |  August 22, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Thanks, Denise, for the great input! (-:

    Reply
  • 3. Lauren  |  August 23, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    It is extremely important to check up on the ingredients in so called “green cleaners” because some of the ones mentioned in the article and comments actually do use certain levels of toxins. Even Simple Green was reported by Women’s Voices for the Earth to contain chemicals. A line of all natural, organic cleaners I actually came across through my children’s pediatrician is BabyGanics, by Healthy Home Products. From what I understand these cleaners are absolutely non-synthetic with zero traces of chemicals in their formula. They work great and I know they are safe to be using.

    Reply
  • 4. Sandra Fatovich  |  August 23, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    I am so happy to see many people looking toward purchasing safe and environmentally friendly products. You might want to check out my web site and get some great information. We have over 350 products and they are all safe and environmentally friendly! You can even make money by referring others to our company. We do no advertising and recruit customers by word of mouth of our happy customers.

    Sandra Fatovich
    520-298-7131
    sandslf@aol.com

    Reply
  • 5. Jill  |  September 2, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    Thanks so much for giving out all this great information Kelly. I’ve been reading it, and the replies, closely. I knew I asked the right person! I want to add that I have found the magazine Body & Soul to be helpful with cleaning “recipes” and techniques (as well as with so many other things natural).

    Reply
  • 6. bychance  |  September 3, 2007 at 1:50 am

    Hmmm…I’ll have to check out that magazine! Looks like another “Martha” publication that can be found at: http://www.marthastewart.com/bodyandsoulmag/ . (-: She is everywhere…..and giving some healthy advice. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Reply
  • 7. Kerri  |  September 5, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Actually, I heard on NPR or BBC a report last year about the mist that Simple Green puts out has some chemical in it that is quite unsafe to breathe in. And as a long time (ex) user of Simple Green, I can vouch for the “SG cough” which I contracted from time to time whilst cleaning my shower. I’ll try to find that report…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

