Neckdown V Neck Cardigan

August 30, 2007 at 12:00 pm 3 comments

OK, now for a little knitting…. This sweater is a 40th birthday gift for my sister. Her birthday was June 1st and I started her sweater after school ended, around mid-June. Knitted gifts aren’t suppose to be done on time, are they? I guess not, especially when it is started after the date.

This cardigan is another great pattern from Knitting Pure & Simple. True to its name, it is a “simple” knit. After knitting numerous pullovers, this will be my first cardigan that I will knit to completion (there’s a baby sweater sitting in another knitting bag somewhere in the house).

The directions are clear and easy to follow making this a pleasant knitting project. Click HERE or on the image (the final product) to the right to go to this company’s cardigan page.

Suggest Materials:

Yarn– light worsted or dk weight. I’m using a Reynolds Saucy, 100% Mercerized Cotton, 185 yards per skein, at 5 stitches an inch. My color is Greek Olive, #960.

Needles– 24 inch circular, sizes 6 and 4; 16 inch circular, size 6; double point, size 6 and 4. I tend to knit loosely and am using size 5 needles where 6 is suggested. However, I’m sticking with the 4 for the smaller gauge stitches.

Gauge– 20 stitches equals 4 inches or 5 stitches per inch.

I’m working on a sleeve right now while I await an email from my sister letting me know how long she’d like this sweater. One of the great things about knitting from the top down is that you can always adjust the length to fit the receiver of the garment as you knit and even after it is done.

Another great collection of “knit from the top down” patters that I recently came across comes from the Cabin Fever company located Orilla, Ontario, Canada. “No sewing” is their specialty and their patterns are worth a look.

More to come on my sweater as it reaches the finishing stages…..

Entry filed under: Knitting.

Cleaning Your Home the Earth Friendly Way Baby Items You Can’t Do Without

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adrienne  |  August 30, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Looking good!!!! Love the color!

    Reply
  • 2. Kerri Arsenault  |  September 1, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    I can’t wait to get my sweater! It’s so beautiful and the color is great! I want to knit like you!

    Reply
  • 3. One Sleeve and a Neck to Go « By Chance…..or Not  |  September 29, 2007 at 11:44 am

    […] I said in a previous post on August 30th, Neck Down V Neck Cardigan,  this is a great sweater to knit; not too difficult with some nice shaping […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,850 hits

