One Sleeve and a Neck to Go

September 29, 2007 at 11:44 am 2 comments

I’ve been knitting this top down v-neck cardigan for my sister since June (well, really early July) and I finally feel like I’m reaching the completion point. One sleeve has been completed and I have just the second sleeve and the neck line to go.

As I said in a previous post on August 30th, Neck Down V Neck Cardigan, this is a great sweater to knit; not too difficult with some nice shaping detail.

As you can see, the sleeve has a bell shaped end with a tapered middle. The body also has some nice form fitting decreases. My only concern is that my intended recipient is on the other side of the country and can’t do any fittings. I have her measurements (and she is petite), but I’m still a little nervous about the sizing.

Oh well, one of the best things about a top-down knit (other than the no stitching of seams) is that you can resize your knitted items just by taking out the bottom stitches and adding or decreasing rows.

Don’t be fooled by the length of time it has taken me to get this sleeve finished. I’ve just started school this month (I’m a middle school science teacher) and it takes until right about now for me to get back into the “swing of things”. Knitting, unfortunately, takes a back seat.

I am off to the Purl Diva’s “De-Stash Do-Good” charity event today just off Route 1 in Brunswick, ME. They are selling donated “stash” yarns, as well some from their store, to raise money for a charity (can’t remember which). I DON’T need any yarn, but gosh darn it, I just can’t resist a yarn sale.

Happy Saturday!!!

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , , .

Baby Items You Can’t Do Without Our Dossier Has Been Mailed

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

