Archive for November 23, 2007

The “Neck Down, V-Neck Cardigan” is Complete

Top Down V-Neck CardiganWell, it is finally finished. Started during the first week of July, this simple “knit from the top down” cardigan is done. I actually finished it almost three weeks ago but haven’t taken the time to post on this particular topic.

Don’t let the length of time I took to complete this project scare you. It was done over a busy summer and the starting of a school year (I teach, for those of you that don’t know). This pattern moves along pretty quickly and is, really, very easy to knit.

This post is a continuation of two others (August 30th and September 29th) that track my progress but I’ll give you the details again:

  • Pattern source: Knitting Pure and Simple Neckdown V Neck Shaped Cardigan
  • Gauge: 20 sts equal 4 inches (5 stitches per inch) so any worsted weight yarn should do. (Hmm…maybe I’ll try this in a Brown Sheep wool blend.)
  • Needles:
    • The pattern calls for 24 inch circulars sizes 6 and 4; 16 inch circulars size 6; double pointed needles size 6 and 4 or sizes to get the gauge.
    • I knit loose so I used 24 inch circulars sizes 5 and 4; 16 inch circulars size 5; double pointed needles size 5 and 4.
    • To be honest, I simply forgot to use the size 4 needles for the sleeves (oops) and I barely used the double pointed 5’s (sticking with the circulars) if anyone is a little nervous about those tools and everything came out just fine.
  • Yarn: I used Reynolds Saucy, 100% Mercerized Cotton, 185 yards per skein, at 5 stitches per inch. My color is Greek Olive, #960.

Emma HelpsIts always good to get a project finished so that you can focus on the new..or semi new. Currently, I’m working on a sweater for my nephew and I swear that it is going to be the last thing I knit for someone else for awhile. I never knit for myself and I’ve some personal projects in mind with an impressive collection of yarn stash to use (thanks to a couple of excellent yarn sales this summer). More to come on these.

Otherwise, Sis, you’ll have your sweater when I see you next week. Hmmm…hope it fits! I’ll just need your pic in the sweater to make this entry complete.

Update: The sweater fits and looks even better with a view of  St. Croix in the background!

November 23, 2007 at 1:14 pm 1 comment


Kostanai Weather

November 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 76,962 hits