Dylan’s Sweater

January 23, 2008 at 12:38 am Leave a comment

O.K., this is the last knitted item that I create for someone else for a while. I’m constantly being asked of sweaters that I wear, “Did you knit that yourself?” “No,” is always the answer because I never knit for myself. I’ve always got a project going for someone else. So, as a result, I’ve knit my last gift for the time being…a Christmas sweater for my nephew. He’s such a great kid, I couldn’t refused.

Started in November, this is one of those chunky knit sweaters that goes pretty fast. Dylan liked the sweater that I knit for his mom (see Hey Sis’, Your Sweater is Done!) but wasn’t too keen on the rolled neck and sleeves. To help with his styling preferences, I adapted the Weekend Neck Down Pullover from Pure and Simple to one that was more preferred by this savvy middle schooler. Basically, I knit the same sweater but did a simple ribbed neck versus the one designed in the pattern.

Believe it or not, I actually finished the project in time for Christmas. However, the darn kid is growing so fast (as they do at this age) I needed to take the sweater home and add a couple inches to the bottom and sleeves. The above picture shows where I put the needles in so that I could rip out the edging and knit the garment longer. That’s one thing I really like about this pattern: knitting from the top down allows you to easily go back and add a few more rows without any problems.

Once again I chose the Lion’s Brand Thick and Quick yarn. I’ve used the wheat color in the past but my nephew requested a dark blue sweater. I will say, the blue isn’t as forgiving as the lighter color. Little fuzzes and frays seem to show up more. I needed to do a little blocking and where I’ve thrown sweaters knit in the wheat color right in the washing machine on gentle without any problems, the blue really fuzzed up a lot more. The sweater is drying right now so I’ll be curious to see the final outcome. Stay tuned for a picture.

The Knitting Stats are basically the same for the previous sweaters I’ve knit using this yarn but I’ll post them again:

Knitting Stats

Suggested yarn is a super bulky weight with size 17 needles 29″ circular, double pointed needles size 17; size 15- 16″ circulars; or sizes to get the gauge. I used

  • Yarn:
    • Lion Brand Wool-Ease, Thick & Quick, Navy #110.
    • I used just under 6 skeins.
  • Needles:
    • Size 15, 16″ circulars for the neck
    • Size 15, 32″ for the body
    • Size 15, 16″ for the sleeves. (Didn’t need the double pointed.)

Neck and Sleeves: A rib makes a great neck and sleeve edging for a variation on the pattern. Worked great!

Time to knit for myself and for the little one on the way!

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , , .

The I-600A Woes Notre Dame de Grace Pullover

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

