Back to School and My First Pair of Socks

May 24, 2008 at 5:14 pm 5 comments

It has been a while since I’ve posted. My return to teaching only three days after finding out that our Kazakhstan adoption had been postponed to late August has kept me busy, to say the least. It hasn’t been teaching that has kept me from posting to my blog but rather the need for a break from thinking about adopting, school, and whatever else was going on in my life. My mind-set just a month ago was totally off school and completely focused on becoming a mom, so to go back to school was like having the wind knocked out of me in a big way! I have to say, though, the staff and kids have been so wonderful and supportive that I can’t think of a better place to be while we continue our wait. I really love my school and everyone that is there. Really, I do!

My writings of late have been very focused on one part of my life; our adoption story. As a result, other interests have been ignored (as far as writing and recording goes) and so I thought that I should focus on these aspects of my life for awhile. Of note is the completion of my first knitted pair of socks.

1432While visiting my sister in Oakland, CA (another story yet to be told), I yearned for some knitting as the sweater I was working on at home (which still needs to be finished) was just too bulky to travel with. By chance, a friend of hers happened to be a knitter and graciously lent me some needles and a pattern in which to craft socks from a lovely yarn I purchased while roaming through San Francisco. (Thanks so much MW and thanks, also, for the leftover sock yarn to use for baby items!)

MW said that socks were quick to knit but mine seem to have taken a little longer. Let’s see; I started them around mid-April and just finished them today. I guess that’s not bad seeing I also started teaching again and lesson planning and correcting papers almost always take precedence over knitting. (Note the “almost”.)

So, yes, I messed up my first heel but was able to take it out and re-knit it with only minor screw ups. I also had to redo my decrease on the toes of the first sock because I didn’t read the directions carefully. Overall, I feel my socks were a huge success. And the best part about them…. I knit them for me! Most of my projects go to others but these lovely foot warmers are mine!

One thing I did do that was pretty successful was to watch the pattern in the yarn so that when I started my second sock, I started it almost exactly in the same point of the computerized pattern as the first sock allowing both to match up fairly well.

Here are my knitting details:

  • Pattern source: Yankee Knitter Designs– Classic Socks for the Family
  • Gauge: This pattern is for fingering, sport, and worsted weight yarn. I used a fingering weight at 7 1/2 stitches = 1 inch.
  • Needles: Double pointed, 6″ length, bamboo. US size 1 for the ribbing. US size 2 for the sock.
  • Yarn: Opal Hundertwasser, 100 g., 425 m (75% virgin wool, 25% polymide). Computerized stocking yarn that makes a pattern as you knit. Made in Germany. In Variation nach Hundertwassers, Werk 650, Der Blaue Mond. Color (Farbe)-1432, Lot (Partie)- 60.
  • I bought my yarn at Greenwich Yarn in San Francisco when visiting my sister in April.
  • Finished Sizing: Fingering weight pattern, casting on 60 stitches to start. I wear a size 9/40 in a woman’s shoe size.
Entry filed under: Everyday Life, Kazakhstan Adoption, Knitting. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Deflated and Defeated Saturday Morning Post

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia  |  May 25, 2008 at 3:04 am

    Kelly,

    The socks turned out great! How pretty they are. I love the colors. You have quite a talent with knitting. That is a good activity to keep your mind focused on something other than waiting. Keep up the good work.

    Tricia

    Reply
  • 2. Susan  |  May 26, 2008 at 1:45 am

    wow Kelly-I am really impressed too. I can’t even sew a button on. I am REALLY quite pathetic. πŸ™‚

    But, then again, i hardly ever wear socks either. Living in sunny Florida has me pretty much living in sandals.

    Good to hear from you-and am glad you love your job and it’s help keeping your mind busy.

    We just made travel plans to go to Oakland in July! My aunt and uncle live there, as does my stepson. Like you, I expected to travel this summer to Kaz and it looks like we are also waiting longer than we expected. But, the good news is that we have some really fun summer plans. πŸ™‚ My grandma is also flying out and my sister and her kids, so we’ll have a great time seeing everyone.

    My aunt and uncle also have a home on Bodega Bay, a couple hours outside Oakland, and it’s like 10 degrees cooler there. Since it’s already 90 here, it will be a welcome break from the humidity!

    Keeping busy is key! You will be a mom, and in just a few months too….so you can perfect those knitting skills even further with some cute kiddo clothes. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. Istanbul  |  June 3, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Istanbul says : I absolutely agree with this !

    Reply
  • 4. Mary Ann  |  June 4, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    You’re welcome for the needles and the yarn! The socks look great, and I’m so impressed that you made the pattern match on both socks. You get the coveted Knitting OCD Award for that.

    Reply
  • 5. Misfire  |  June 19, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Misfire!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,850 hits

