Kazahkstan Adoption Update…Sort Of

June 30, 2008 at 12:40 pm 4 comments

I didn’t post this earlier because we’ve been waiting to see what it means; we received our letter of invitation from the Kazakhstan Ministry of Education around the beginning of June. Our invitation is dated from July 20th to October 20th. This means (as far as we understand) that we could leave anytime between those dates. We were hoping that it would be closer to the end of July, but we’ve recently found out that we’re slotted to leave the first week in September for Kostanai.

This is great news as it is the first, real concrete information we’ve received from Kazakhstan in a while, but I’m not going into a lot of details of what we’ve heard. Why not say more? Maybe be I’m getting a little superstitious and I don’t want to jinx our good news by saying too much, or perhaps it is the fact that I don’t want to screw anything up at this point by publishing something online that I shouldn’t. (Actually, I think it is a combination of both.)

This process has been incredibly long (more than two years now) and even though we’re scheduled to go anything could happen and we could be further delayed or, at worst, the country could close to foreign adoptions. I’m keeping my fingers crossed, holding my breath, rubbing the belly of my dog everyday, and anything else I can do for good luck between now and late August. I’ll won’t truly feel comfortable until we are home with our child, which looks to be early November.

I know it is only two months away, but each month seems like three as our wait for a child is further extended. Luckily, summer in Maine is a busy season and time will pass quickly. We’ve have a lot going on socially and with our home. For instance, there is a backhoe parked on our front lawn right now as we are hooking up to the town water and sewer. (We’re currently on a septic and well.) I’m looking forward to doing some knitting, finishing renovations that need completing from this spring, finalizing plans on our new addition and garage, studying Russian (like the new book I got on conjugating 510 Russian Verbs), gardening, seeing family and friends, and taking a couple road trips in the VW camper van. There is a lot to do and we will make the most of our time. We always do. That’s just the way we are.

My heart goes out to those who are also in this process. I can honestly say that if you are considering adopting a child, I would steer away from foreign adoption right now. Each program that I look into seems to be more and more less stable for those coming from foreign countries. Some of the reasons behind this are good, others are more political and selfish. Many countries have improved their economic conditions (there was a great report on NPR about it last week) thus more people are able to adopt children in their own country. Such is the case with Kazakhstan and I fully support this positive result of increased wealth. Other countries seem to be reducing the placement of children due to feelings of shame or are using their children as political tools.

Of course these are very generalized statements without any specific examples to back them up, but I read a lot about this process and I think that others would also agree with my observations. I’ll have a lot to post this summer, including some observations on what seems to be going on in adoption around the world.

But right now, I have to do what is most important: I have to walk the dog before we get another thunderstorm. The fact of having to do this chore reminds me that my life is good, my life is comfortable, and I have many things to be thankful for as I wait for our future child. Cheers!

Entry filed under: Kazakhstan Adoption. Tags: , , , , , .

Skin Deep: Cosmetic Safety Database Summer Time Summary

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  June 30, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Good to hear an update. Will be keeping my fingers and toes and any other extremities that I can cross crossed for you!!! Will be watching to see your progress and hoping there are no more delays!!

    Reply
  • 2. susan  |  June 30, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Congratulations! That is great you got a date! We will see you there. It does seem like the LOI’s in Kostanai are about a month apart from each other. It will go by fast and the weather will be cooling down. Fall in Kaz is the best time!!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Kjersten Morrison  |  July 8, 2008 at 2:21 am

    WOO HOO!!!
    So glad to hear this news, however we will wait to hold the REAL party for your travel once you are finally in the air headed for Kaz! We hope you had a great holiday. Thanks for the invite over the fourth. We were out of town the whole week at a family reunion in New Hampshire. I meant to email you before we left, but things were pretty hectic leading up to our week away. Who knows, maybe next year we will all be able to celebrate the fourth with our kiddos together? We’ll keep our fingers crossed for you. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Enjoy your summer in beautiful Maine!!!!! I don’t think there could be anyplace better!

    -Kjersten (and Steve & Tougy)

    Reply
  • 4. Katy  |  August 4, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I’m glad for you ! We hope to go to KZ before the end of 2008 too !

    Blessings

    Katy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

