We’re “Leaving On a Jet Plane”…

August 31, 2008 at 2:51 am 6 comments

O.K., enough reference to John Denver (for those of you who know the song to which I refer). I’ve had a few people asking, so perhaps I haven’t posted the actual date of our departure: Monday, September 1st.

Yes, we are leaving on Monday and will arrive at our destination, Kostanai, Kazakhstan, in the evening on September 3rd. It is going to be a long journey, but we will make the best of it. Our layover in Frankfurt is eight hours so we hope to explore the city for bit. No, we won’t be consuming piva (beer) upon our 5:30 a.m. arrival but will be in search of some good strong coffee and the wonderful German breakfasts that we love.

We fly from Germany arriving in Almaty, Kazakhstan around midnight on September 2nd. We’ll be greeted at the airport by MAPs staff who have secured our flight to Kostanai on the following day. They’ll drive us to our hotel where we will hopefully get some much needed sleep.

If we can sleep very little between now and when we leave, our flight to Frankfurt could be our time to get some “shut eye” leaving us wide awake for our flight to Almaty. Well, maybe not “wide awake” but at least conscious so we can somehow manuever our body clocks to be ten hours ahead of where we are in Maine.

Let me say this again as a reminder for our family and friends that will be calling:

Kazakhstan is ten hours ahead of Maine.

O.K., on that note I’m heading to bed. It is 10:45 p.m. and most people might say that I really haven’t attempted to stay up later in order to prepare myself for our time transformation. However, those of you that know me understand that I’m already up WAY beyond my typical bedtime. So..this is a stretch for me. Nighty night!

Entry filed under: Kazakhstan Adoption. Tags: .

They’ve Arrived! Quick Post

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  August 31, 2008 at 4:29 am

    i will look for you on Thursday then!
    I did not sleep at all before we left…way too much nervous energy..

    my schedule is WAY off here. I am up until midnight (last night 1 am) and am up at 8 or 8:30….at home, I am in bed by 10 and up at 5 am to run…

    No running here, but my shoes and my clothes are here in case I change my mind….

    we did not find the flights bad at all, but the layovers were just long….good that you can enjoy Frankfurt. we did not have quite enough time to do that…

    SO happy happy happy you are about on the way.
    It’s so wonderful here…just wait.

    Joe is missing it. He misses us, Leeza, and all the kids;.
    It is truly an experience that forever and ever changes you!!
    Joe was telling his mom how attached we are to all the children, and how we would adopt them all. We truly would…you will soon see.
    SO HAPPY TO meet you in real life….

    so happy for you to get here…..and when you do, you will understand why you had to wait….and you would do it all again.
    promise.

    🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  August 31, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Yeahhhhh!!! Congratulations on making it so far the best is yet to come…all the reward for the long wait!!! Can’t wait to follow along!!

    Reply
  • 3. Ellen Norton  |  August 31, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Safe, safe trip !!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Susan Moore  |  September 1, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Best wishes from Austin, Texas! I look forward to cheering you on. I returned from Kaz on May 1 with my 8 month old son. It’s a wonderfully memorable time. Susan

    Reply
  • 5. Tricia  |  September 1, 2008 at 1:10 am

    We will be thinking of you as you travel. There are so many happy moments ahead of you! Soak it all in.

    Reply
  • 6. Jennifer M  |  September 1, 2008 at 2:40 am

    Safe travels! And I love that lyric- I couldn’t wait to use it myself! 🙂

    The trip to Kaz (ok, not the actual flights, but the stay in country!) is an amazing time! I loved almost every minute of it, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I wish you an exciting journey with many fond memories.

    And oh yeah- I can’t wait to follow along! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

