Our Waiting Period is Up!

October 30, 2008 at 2:48 am 14 comments

Thursday, October 30, 2008: Day 58 in Kostanai

This is just a quick update as I’ve spent this week running errands that are more easily done alone then they would be hauling around an eight month old. Why am I doing these now? K comes home to the apartment tomorrow. Yippee!!!

Today is the final day of our mandatory 15 day waiting period. I could take my little guy tonight at 5 p.m. but I figured the transition would be easier for him during the day so we will pick him up sometime tomorrow morning. This will give me a chance to say goodbye to the caretakers, and they him, and give K a chance to get used to his new home and surroundings during the day. (I think this may also be his first time in a car so the whole day will be really interesting.)

I spent last night boiling potatoes and carrots to have some of his typical menu on hand and will pick up baby cereal and formula this afternoon. Beef patties, beef broth, fruit, and juice are also part of his everyday meals. The specific foods will gradually change and/or be enhanced, I’m sure, but for now I’ll try to go with what he is used to. (They don’t have much variety. Basically, the same thing every day.)

Neighbors will be curious as I haven’t really told them why I was here and there is no way I can hide a kid. Luckily, I’ve become pretty friendly with most of the people in the building so I hope they’ll be supportive.

Anyway…I need to go and wrap caregiver gifts and boil some beef. More tomorrow, definitely!



Entry filed under: Kazakhstan Adoption.

A Busy Day Happy Halloween…A Couple Days Late

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jeremiah Lowengard  |  October 30, 2008 at 2:55 am

    That is soooooooooooo excellent.Yeeeeeeeeaaaaaaahhhhh!

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia  |  October 30, 2008 at 3:10 am

    It is 11:00 PM here when I am reading this, so you are probably well on your way to one of the most exciting days of your life. Wishing you and K the best! Enjoy your one on one time together.

    Reply
  • 3. Jamie  |  October 30, 2008 at 3:18 am

    Hooray – what an exciting day!!! We can’t wait to see pictures of your little guy!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Tina  |  October 30, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Wooo Hooo! Happy dancing all over the place!
    Tina

    Reply
  • 5. Sadie's Mama  |  October 30, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Debbie  |  October 30, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    YEA!!!!! Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for you!!! When will you guys be on your way home?

    Reply
  • 7. Shannon  |  October 30, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    How exciting! Great news! Best Wishes….
    How long now do you wait before heading home?
    Looking forward to meeting “K”.

    Reply
  • 8. kazreader  |  October 30, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    yay!!!!!! i never knew my neighbors,and there were mostly families where we lived so i just felt like i fit in better once I had Leeza!

    Have you seen K’s menu? Leeza’s diet had a lot of variety-way more than my diet has-i did not find her diet to be bland or boring in the least-and it’s evident in the fact that she will eat almost anything now! In Kostanai, I did not feed her the same food because I do not cook, except for what tatiana came over and made and also what her mom made us, and she would spit a lot out. However, she got over that and now trusts me and eats anything I give her-way more than Sean would ever and currently will eat. 🙂

    You are a much more domesticated mom than I am-K is a lucky lil boy to have such a cool momma!

    can’t wait to see his cute face in your apt.
    USE THAT ERGO-it wil be a lifesaver. It still is, even at home.
    I love that thing. 🙂

    congratulations Kelly-i know Doug is reaady to have his family home!!! Enjoy your precious son- i know you will!

    Reply
  • 9. kazreader  |  October 30, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    oops, this is Susan-sorry….it logged me in as a generic name. sorry.
    ( but i AM SURE you knew it was me)
    LOL

    Reply
  • 10. ellen  |  October 30, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Wow!! We are sooo happy for you! When do you come home?

    Reply
  • 11. Nell O'Connell  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!! We’re so happy and excited for the three of you! Can’t wait to meet K!

    Reply
  • 12. Ali  |  October 31, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    WOW. You are bringing YOUR baby home. YOUR little boy. I am so excited for you and have tears in my eyes thinking how lucky that little boy is to have you for parents for the rest of his life.

    Reply
  • 13. Sarah  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Wonderful news! And what a great TREAT for Halloween!

    Reply
  • 14. kazreader  |  November 2, 2008 at 1:28 am

    ok, where are you ?dying to see pics of your lil son and you hangin out in the “rent”

    missin ya-
    susan and leeza
    Joe and Sean

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

