I Think We’re Settling In

November 24, 2008 at 2:31 am 7 comments

Sunday, November 22, 2008: Day 8 at Home

41969I can’t believe that we’ve been back in Maine for eight days. Time has definitely flown by as Kairat and I have worked to acclimate ourselves to this time zone. He is finally sleeping throughout the night, going to bed around 8 p.m. and waking up between 5 and 6 a.m.  I’d prefer that he sleep a little later but I can deal with the early morning, as I’m an early riser anyway. Selfishly, I would welcome a little later wakening so that I could have some alone time in the morning. Oh well, it will come. Before I know it, he’ll be a teenager and I won’t be able to get him out of bed!

Kairat tends to take a nap around 9:30 a.m. until 11 a.m. and then another from around 2:30 p.m. until 4 p.m.  For the first few days I forced him to wake up in the afternoon resulting in a grouchy little boy until bedtime, but later in the week things seem to go better and evenings were much more pleasant.

Thursday and Friday were the first two days that I actually felt slightly functional. On Thursday we headed out to do a little grocery shopping, visit a toy store, and to pick up one more warm sleeper. On Friday, I had a doctor’s appointment in South Portland, which is about 30 minutes away from the house, for a possible fractured knuckle on my right hand. Kairat was a little testy for the first part of the ride as he is not too excited about having to be in a baby seat, but he soon settled in and took a fifteen-minute nap. I really don’t want him to sleep during the day however there was really nothing I could do.

After the doctor’s appointment we headed to my school (King Middle in Portland, ME) for what I thought was going to be a quick visit. It was great having a chance to see everyone one at school; both staff and students. I nearly cried as I turned into the parking lot. Returning to show off our child just seemed to be surreal after everything we’ve been through and I couldn’t help but get a little emotional.

My last year students, who are now 8th graders, were finding me no matter where I was in the building. I love those kids and really miss them along with the teachers and staff members, all who have been such an incredible support throughout this entire experience. Kairat loved the attention and, right up until he started to get very tired, he would let students and teachers hold and play with him. Although I didn’t get to see everyone (it was during the school day) we had a great visit. Two and a half hours and a whiney baby later, we left for home.

42275Adjusting to parenthood is probably a challenge for anyone and I think our experience is compounded by the fact that we have an additional living space and a barn being built along side our house right now. Frequent readers know that this was started just after we left for Kazakhstan. At that time it was predicted that most of the work would be done by this point in time so that construction noises wouldn’t be a factor upon our return. However, as in all building projects, they are a little behind schedule. Kairat is great at sleeping through noises but sometimes the loud banging is just too much for him and his naps are cut short. This can make things tough for everyone when the poor little guy can’t get enough rest while still trying to recover from jet-lag.

Along with Kairat’s sleep interruptions, Doug has had to spend mornings and basically most of his free time dealing with extraneous issues that go along with adding to a home. He’s also doing whatever he can to be a great dad and care for his son (and wife). We’re out straight right now but know that we’ll get caught up soon. (I’m still trying to finish my unpacking from Kazakhstan and attempting to find and organize things we had to store away because of construction before we left.)

42337We had many visitors in our first week of being home but still have so many more people that we are looking forward to seeing. The grandparents are becoming known to their new grandson very quickly. Our first few days home were consumed by Kairat 423591wanting Mommy but he is now welcoming attention from Papa and others anxious to see him. I love this! Doug’s parents even came over on Thursday just to baby-sit while I ran around doing laundry and other housework that has been pushed aside. As long as I wasn’t in the room for too long, Kairat was happy to be entertained by his Grandma and Grandpa. This is a great sign! [What? You want to feed the baby? Please, be my guest.]

42343Basically, things are going to take time as we find our routine but after just a week it is already getting easier. Some quick things that I’ve noticed [other than the fact that he’s found his tongue] :

  • Kairat loves “Cheerios” type cereal (we get the organic kind) and can feed himself well. We play “get the cheerio out of the truck” game.
  • He is sleeping throughout the night, even though he is an early riser.
  • My having more to do around the house makes it harder to keep track of his signs that are saying, “Potty time!” I’ve GOT to pay attention to this!
  • Kairat LOVES his books and the baby art cards a friend sent us!
  • When looking at pictures in a book or magazine, he points to small objects and faces with his index finger. He even is making a “Meow” noise when we see the cats in Goodnight Moon.
  • Kairat is waving “Bye-bye”, claps his hands when we say, “Hooray!” knows and understands both “No” and “Nyet” and is, well, a genius.
  • He’s still not crawling but is dragging himself across the floor with amazing speed and has recently begun pulling himself up on the side of the tub without help. (He loves his bath and wants one every time he goes into the bathroom to potty.)
  • Finding time to cook, clean, and shower are still a challenge. (Don’t worry; I’m taking a shower every day.)
  • Kineo, our dog, is doing great with Kairat. He’s keeping his distance and we are being very cautious and are on both of them when they are in a room together

I’m looking forward to making more frequent but shorter posts in the upcoming weeks. Time is still passing very quickly and I’m amazed that Thanksgiving is this week. With all that has been going on, I am incredibly thankful for all of my blessings. We’re home, I have a wonderful husband, our family and friends are amazing, and life is good. Doug, Kairat, and I have truly been blessed.
423631_Wishing all a wonderful holiday and countless blessings in your lives.

Entry filed under: Everyday Life, Kazakhstan Adoption.

The Trip and Home Happy Thanksgiving

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  November 24, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Kairat is cuter than ever and it sounds like your first week home has been a really good one! I am pretty laid back and tend to look at Leeza’s cues as to when she’s tired but we defintely needs 2 naps a day-and she is not really a morning person I am finding out. 🙂

    However-story time at the library is at 10 on Tuesday and we’re gonna go and see how she does! It sounds pretty fun and Sean wants to go too!

    We got Leeza’s certifcate of citzenship and it’s REALLY cool to see that in print!

    Kairat is so smart-already pointing at things in books and saying MEOW! Leeza is not the same snuggler buggler as Sean was-but I get to read to her during potty time-but she often won’t let me finish a book. 🙂

    Have an incredible Thanksgiving-as I know you will-with our lil Kostanai cuties that we cherish beyond belief. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. ellen  |  November 24, 2008 at 11:27 am

    ha ha Believe it or not, I was still finding a cheerio or two in very odd places 20 years after J used to first hand feed himself those things. (Like in the bottom of drawers seldom used, or in old boxes of stuff stored in the attic.) Each and every little cheerio I find brings a smile to my face!
    Happy Thanksgiving. GREAT seeing you two at school !!

    Reply
  • 3. Meghan K.  |  November 24, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Hi! It was great to see you-briefly-at school the other day! Kairat is adorable and hope to see you again soon! If you ever need a babysitter you know where to find me!!

    Meghan

    Reply
  • 4. Jamie  |  November 25, 2008 at 2:14 am

    What beautiful photos – you are a lucky family and he is a lucky little guy!

    Reply
  • 5. Anna F.  |  November 26, 2008 at 2:16 am

    I”m so glad that you’re back and I can’t wait to see you! I was dissapointed that I didn’t get to see you when you came, but I think I had orchestra that day and couldn’t be late for it 😛 .
    Anna 😛

    Reply
  • 6. Tricia  |  November 27, 2008 at 5:23 am

    Happy Thanksgiving! We sure do have a lot to be thankful for this year!

    Reply
  • 7. Shannon  |  November 27, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Enjoy you first holiday with your new son…hope to see you soon. Best ~ Shannon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 75,887 hits

