Happy Thanksgiving

November 28, 2008 at 2:07 am 3 comments

42406What can I say except that we are incredibly thankful that we are home with our wonderful son and are starting our lives as a family of three (five counting the dog and cat). Of course, there are kinks to be worked out, but there will always be “kinks” as life is not a constant. We’re up for the challenge and are amazed that we’ve been blessed with such an exceptional child. [Here’s a picture of him at the dinner table in his new outfit from Bunny and Phil. Thanks!]

Kairat has begun to sleep through the night and happily takes a good morning nap. Afternoons are still a struggle but we’re getting there. He’s suddenly taken a dislike to food that he’s happily consumed for the past week but that could be caused by a number of things: teething, need for a menu change, appetite finally balancing out, taste buds kicking in, etc. We’ll try some different combinations tomorrow but if you’ve seen him in person (and even in pictures) it is quite evident that he is far from starving. In fact, I’m amazed at his increase in girth just since we’ve been home. Our little boy loves his meal time and DO NOT get in the way when he sees his bottle.

Daily life is starting to become, well, daily life. We went out to lunch one day, did a little42434 shopping with Papa on another, and even had our first experience with a baby sitter (my in-laws) while I ran to the doctor’s for an x-ray of my finger. Kairat is feeling much more comfortable being with others. [Isn’t it funny how kids love playing in and with containers/boxes. I know I did!]

We also took a short field trip to the Casco Bay YMCA on Monday to check out the Prime Time Care program/area. Children may attend their daycare for up to two hours while parents exercise. Kairat seemed very excited to be in a room with other children and I’m anxious for him to have a chance to interact with youngsters. We’ll be trying this out next week and we will also be going to swim lessons once a week starting in January.

42390Family and friends are still meeting Kairat for the first time and each day brings new faces that he will come to know and love as time goes on. Doug and I feel unbelievably lucky that we have so many caring people in our lives and are, once again, feeling thankful for all of our blessings!

Happy Thanksgiving to All!

Entry filed under: Everyday Life, Kazakhstan Adoption.

I Think We’re Settling In Lazy, Lazy, Lazy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tricia  |  November 28, 2008 at 4:52 am

    That first photo is so cute. He is looking handsome in his new shirt. I am also trying to get Rustam to go to the daycare at the gym, but they wind up calling me over the loudspeaker after only 20 minutes because he is crying hysterically. Not much of a work out. I hope you have better luck. I know he has to get used to it. They told me that it takes time. I think I have even more anxiety about it than he does. It is really going to be hard when they have to go to full time daycare. I am so glad that you are settling in and enjoying your daily routine with your sweet baby boy. I can’t wait to see him again in person.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer M  |  November 28, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving beautiful family! I hope you enjoyed the day to the fullest.

    Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  November 29, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Kairat is one handsome dude in his new duds and I like his Kazakh hat too! I bet he digs daycare….Leeza went to the church nursery after she was baptisized and had a blast.
    I was planning on letting her to go the nursery while I teach sunday school-but sleeping beauty is still sound asleep at 8:45 when I have to leave, so for now-no church nursey for her.

    Story time was fun (but no way will she sit and snuggle in my lap, but most of the kids don’t anyway!!!) but there are so many things to do around her with lil ones that my friends are sharing with me but we’ve yet to really do any of them yet.

    she is sleeping A LOT-I think she must be going thru a major growth spurt because last night at 6:30 pm she was trying to CLIMB into her crib to go to bed-and that was after 2 really long naps!

    I think learning to walk must be exahausting or something.

    Leeza has done the same thing with food-she doesn’t want her soup anymore-that she used to love. I think she just got tired of it-and we are still amazing at how much this child eats–more than most adults…LOL

    Much love and Happy Happy thanksgiving. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 75,850 hits

