Wow! It’s January 7th!

January 7, 2009 at 3:58 pm 3 comments

43585Snow and sleet is the weather here in Freeport, Maine this morning but it was still warm enough outside for a morning walk with our dog, Kineo. Ahhh…my poor little boy was so tired that he slept in his carriage on our stroll and didn’t even wake up when I stripped him of his snowsuit and put him into bed. Believe me, that NEVER happens! His curious little eyes always become alert as soon as he is jarred from any sleeping43589 position. Kairat has been a busy little boy and missed his afternoon nap yesterday and, although he went to bed early last night, today will serve as a “catch-up” day for sleep. [Susan, I had to post these pictures for you as they are a total contrast to your sunny Florida images starring Leeza. Believe it or not, there IS a child under that protective covering.]

43491Blogging hasn’t been high on my priority list as of late. Basically, I just haven’t had the interest, time, or energy. With the holiday season coming to a close and as I’ve begun to reflect on the past month and a half that Kairat and I have been home, I’ve realized that our lives have been a whirlwind of activity centered around visits from family and friends, holiday gatherings, last minute shopping, and the big day, Christmas. Oh, did I also forget to mention feeling a need to catch-up on what I missed while away for 2 1/2 months, that we’re having an addition and barn being built along side our living quarters, and that we are new parents who are discovering all of the joys and complications of that position? Life has been moving at high speed and we’ve been doing a pretty good job keeping up. That is until the week of Christmas. [Here is a picture of K in his new snowsuit from Mimi and Bampi.]

A number of people have kindly stated that, “Oh, your Christmas must have been wonderful this year with your new little one.” To be honest, it was pretty darn stressful. Of course, having Kairat did make this holiday even more of a blessing. He was our true gift! However, juggling the newness of parenthood with trying to keep our usual pace that occurs this time of year proved to be a little much for me.

43135It wasn’t until mid-December that I realized Christmas was only two weeks away and I hadn’t purchased a gift, let alone even thought of putting up a Christmas tree and decorations. To make matters a little more tense, as Doug and I were frantically trying to finish up last minute shopping and prepare for family celebrations, Doug came down with a very nasty case of the flu that laid him flat out from the eve of December 23rd to December 26th. The poor guy missed all of Christmas. [Yes, we did manage to make room for a very small tree this year.]

While Doug made trips from the couch to the bathroom, Kairat and I had Christmas Eve dinner with Doug’s parents and then spent Christmas Day in Mexico, Maine with my family. By the morning of the 26th, Doug was feeling a little better and we celebrated our holiday followed by a Christmas at his parent’s in Yarmouth. So, yes, while our Christmas this year was full of blessings it was also a bit of a struggle handling it alone for a few days and a bit lonely not having my husband nearby to share all of Kairat’s Christmas celebrations.

Admittedly, I felt a little worn down and discouraged over the holiday but once I began to think about all we have achieved since the beginning of September and how well we have acclimated ourselves to home life, baby schedules, and even having some personal time, I began to feel much better. Sometimes I think that I expect too much of myself (and maybe others around me) too soon.

43043With that said, it was wonderful to see all of my siblings at home together for the first time in more years than I can remember. Now43029 that we are all married (Tom and Steph were the last in St. Croix, November 2007) it seemed even more special that we could all be together, which made me miss Doug even more on Christmas day. We did hold up his Christmas stocking in his honor during the family picture. [I love this picture of my brother Joel “chasing” Kairat through my parent’s house.]

Although it was only family, we still had a house full with Kairat finally meeting all of his aunts and uncles, having time to play with his cousin Connor, and engulfing himself in wrapping paper instead of gifts. 43125My dad, known as Bampi to his grandchildren, proudly donned his Kazakh hat along with his newest grandson. It was a wonderful gathering and even more wonderful to be with my entire immediate family (minus Doug) all under one roof. Below are pictures of my siblings and I (I’m in red on the right) and siblings and our growing families. (My brother Joel and his wife are expecting in April.)

43083 43093

So here it is, January 7th, and I’m just getting back into Blog mode. I’ve missed writing and am going to try to give myself a little more time during the week to skip housework and enjoy the things I love. Other pastimes that need some attention are exercise and knitting, both of which I’m craving! I’m sure the exercise will come today with snow removal (shoveling is such a good workout) but I’m looking forward to more yoga and visits to the gym. And those mittens that I was going to learn to knit in Kazakhstan? Well, I plan on getting those started tonight!

Entry filed under: Everyday Life, Kazakhstan Adoption.

Happy Holidays What to Use on Baby

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  January 7, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Poor Doug…Joe got the worst sinus infection ever while we visited Arkansas to visit all of MY siblings who flew in to wish my sister a happy 40th birthday and to bring in the new year.
    Joe was sick, I got sick, but lil Leeza, with her Kazakh immune system, has not been sick since she left that cold infested baby house (thank goodness!)

    You have a ton going on-and you should be proud you had tiime to post. I have not been able to run in a week with this ick, and just walking Miles and Leeza wears me out. It’s so annoying!

    Glad Doug is better and you’re back up on the net.
    Yoga has taken a very rear back seat since my yoga studio doesn’t have child care, and I’m really not ready to leave Leeza yet anyway. 🙂
    However, I am auditioning for a STEINMART commericial later this month-how funny is THAT. 🙂

    Wonderful pics and lil Kairat is cuter than ever. My Leeza has gained 5 lbs since she’s been home! We just went to the dr today for the first time since we’ve been home. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. ellen  |  January 8, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Merry Christmas Kelly, Doug and Kairat.
    It’s ok, you can celebrate now…
    and every other day, too.
    Isn’t your addition done yet???

    Reply
  • 3. bychance  |  January 8, 2009 at 3:07 am

    Ah, Ellen, the addition that was suppose to be almost done by the time K and I got home? No, that one isn’t done, yet. (-:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 75,834 hits

