A Long Overdue Update

April 5, 2009 at 5:53 pm 5 comments

Looking back over my Blog I’m amazed to find that I haven’t posted anything since the 30th of January. The past three months have been full of gatherings, appointments, child-care hunting, home renovations, attempts at dog relocation, being a mom, and everyday life. Despite always seeming to have something to do, a strong sense “cabin fever” has dominated and claustrophobia has set in.

41644Perhaps it because snow came early while we were still in Kazakhstan or the mere fact that I don’t get out quite as much with a little one to bundle up and nap times to consider that has made this winter seem so long. The constant noise from the construction (that finally ceased about three weeks ago) and not being able to leave our anxiety stricken dog during the day certainly hasn’t helped either.  I actually think a combination of above with the fact that I was in Kazakhstan for almost three months (half of it alone) is to blame. Although I was free to explore on foot and interacted with friends there, the experience was a bit isolating and incredibly boring at times.  Whatever the cause, I, like most people in Maine, am anxious for consistently warmer weather and am dying to get outside more!

We’ve had glimpses of spring ranging from a couple beautiful days in the fifties to snow melting downpours. The overall weather has been downright dreary for days and after poor weather forecasting last weekend left an expectant state without the one sunny day it was hoping for, all are looking forward to parting clouds this Sunday morning. I want to go outside and play!

K and MimiKairat turned one year old on February 5th and took his first real steps two days later. It is so funny to watch him practically run with his Frankenstein-like gait. Carrying toys from room to room and chair to chair seem to entertain him much longer than I could ever imagine. He loves to rock his collections in the adult rocking chair in his bedroom and then will cross the room to rock himself in his miniature version.

44576Mud (of course) is quite the fascination and we’ve already spent some time playing in it. The local consignment shop was a great place to pick up extra “play clothes” as being outside, at least at this point in the season, means being covered with mud upon our return to the indoors. Prior to the mucky season, Kairat LOVED being pulled in his sled through the snow. The faster, the better, which was good exercise for Mama. Riding in his baby backpack has also shown to be a tolerable outdoors activity although I’m sure K would much rather be running around on his own clumsy little legs.

I’m amazed at K’s verbal skills. At a recent doctor check-up he was declared to be performing on an 18-month level with his animal sounds. Large felines are obsessions right now and K prefers all creatures to have a roar like a tiger or lion, even when he knows that isn’t the sound it makes. I have to admit, he’s got a pretty good imitation but it just doesn’t sound right coming from a duck. Actually, anything he isn’t sure of (as far as sounds go) becomes a tiger. “Roar!”

Kairat identifies numerous body parts, clothing, home items such as doors, windows, etc. upon request along with characters, food, and other things found in books and his alphabet placemats. I’m starting to move from object recognition to number and letter identification. K points to the objects he wants to know repeatedly and I just give him the unknown information over and over again.  He really enjoys it so I’m happy to help.

44236Hours are spent reading books in his bedroom, on the couch, and especially while sitting on the potty. We’ve continued the toilet training started in the baby house, often to the shock of family and friends. Most people don’t expect a 1 year old to be ready to sit on a potty but, frankly, I can’t get the kid off sometime. He’ll sit and we’ll read book, after book, after book until I finally decide it is definitely time to move on to other activities.

Of course, we spend plenty of time listening and dancing to music (oldies, classic rock, classical, jazz) and singing and acting out the typical “kiddy” songs. It is really amazing how all children have such a natural love of music and dance. They’re like little sponges and I already love how much fun it is to help my little sponge soak up everything he is interested in.

44524Aside from his walking, Kairat really seems to be very coordinated fourteen-month old. He is doing very well eating with utensils and is drinking from a regular cup rather than a “sippy” cup. Along with dining coordination, though, also comes dining messiness and playfulness. The messiness is fine with me and all part of the learning process but when that little bugger takes a piece of food, looks at me out of the corner of his eye, and then throws it across the table we then work on some simple mealtime manners while I try not to crack-up laughing.

If this child doesn’t grow up to be a soccer player, I’ll be surprised. Before he could even balance on his own, he would hold our hands in order to walk around the house and kick his balls of various sizes. Now that he is walking on his own, he’s continued this practice with surprising success. He is also obsessed with trying to bounce a ball. I’m not talking about a bounce in a pass to someone else. He’s been doing that for months. No, we’re talking about bouncing as if he were bouncing a basketball. Once his aim for that second bounce becomes more accurate, we are going to have a bouncing fool on our hands.

For anyone reading this Blog post, you can probably tell that I’m a bit biased and in love with my incredible son. It is so amazing how your child becomes a perfect little being in your mind, incomparable to all others.  Then again HE IS the most talented, charming, handsome, intelligent fourteen-month old ever.  Well…. at least I think so. (-:

Entry filed under: Kazakhstan Adoption.

Day 73 in the United States Sunscreens

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  April 6, 2009 at 1:19 am

    yes, I will agree, a LONG overdue update, but a GREAT UDPATE TOO! Your son is adorable!! and wow, what a genius! Sean LOVED books like Kairat does….Leeza, not as much. It’s funny how different kids are…even my kids, from each other.

    Kairat is impressive with his verbal skills..and his coordination! Those Kazakh boys are impressive athletes and I imagine having a mommy as a teacher is probably really good for him.
    I am glad the snow is melting so you can get some good mud play in. I can’t say I love mud play…but we do love beach time and Leeza has worthy sea legs on the boat. 🙂

    Potty training will be a breeze when you decide to do it! Leeza’s new obsession is sitting on the “big potty”, but I still don’t think she’s quite ready to go diaper free, or maybe, I’m not ready! We are out and about a lot and I am being lazy. 🙂

    GREAT UPDATE. Why do you have to find a new home for your dog? I’m sorry he has anxiety. 😦
    Are ya’ll going to Kazapoolza? I hope to see you there with your brilliant son. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. karen  |  April 7, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Of course your son is alll that and more. But then again, so is my son. LOL Glad to hear he’s doing so well.

    I know what you mean about the cabin fever. We had our first snowfall the first of November and woke up to 2 inches on Sunday. It’s been a LONG dreary winter in Minnesota and our small, claustrophobic home doesn’t help much. I’m lucky because I get to go to work (although my office is the size of a phone booth). Oh well, this soon will pass.

    Reply
  • 3. karen  |  April 7, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Of course your son is alll that and more. But then again, so is my son. LOL Glad to hear he’s doing so well.

    I know what you mean about the cabin fever. We had our first snowfall the first of November and woke up to 2 inches on Sunday. It’s been a LONG dreary winter in Minnesota and our small, claustrophobic home doesn’t help much. I’m lucky because I get to go to work (although my office is the size of a phone booth). Oh well, this soon will pass.

    Reply
  • 4. elenka  |  April 12, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    OK, this is my 3rd try to post something.
    Happy Easter to the 3 of ya! Hope you’re having fun.

    Kelly, you have inspired me to have a blog, too. Mine’s just a silly one tho. If you have time, check it out.

    Love to all.
    e

    Reply
  • 5. bertha K  |  April 23, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Hey congratulations, you are doing great and doing so many things! and u are right yours is the most incredible baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 75,793 hits

