Notre Dame de Grace Pullover

February 7, 2008 at 12:16 pm 5 comments

This is my first project in my goal for knitting for myself: the Notre Dame de Grace Pullover from Interweave Knits Magazine, Summer 2007 issue. (Note: this is not me but what I hope to be accomplishing.)

When I first saw this pattern, I thought, “Wow, that looks so comfortable and not too tough to knit.” Further boosting my inspiration was a half price yarn sale at Central Yarn, on Congress Street in Portland, ME, where they had the suggested yarn in a different color at half the usual cost.

Here’s the basic knitting stats:

  • Pattern source: Notre Dame de Grace Pullover from Interweave Knits Magazine, Summer 2007 issue.
  • Gauge: 16 sts and 24″= 4″ in a double seed stitch; 10 rows of corrugated shoulder band patt = 1.5″ high.
  • Needles:
    • The pattern calls for size 7 (4.5mm) or adjust for size.
    • Where I usually use a smaller sized needle than suggested (I knit loose), with this pattern I’m actually using a size 8.
  • Yarn: Reynolds Andean Alpaca Regal (90% alpaca, 10% wool; 110yd)
    • Their picture shows #183 sage green.
    • I’m using #6335 rust.
  • Finished Sizing 36 (40, 42, 46, 50, 52)” bust circumference.
    • The Interweave Knit image shows a finished size of 40.
    • I’m knitting a 42 and expecting my gauge to be a little larger.

Figuring out the gauge with the double seed stitch was a new challenge as knitting a sweater with this type of pattern is a little new for me. I think my size 8 needles are right on, but I could be a little off. Either way, bigger or smaller, I think I’ll be safe size wise. A 42″ chest for me is a little big (but not too big) and a smaller fit would be fine, as well.

This yarn is fantastic to knit with. I’ve been working on a cable scarf with an acrylic Lion Brand. Although the project is looking O.K., the yarn just doesn’t feel “good” while I’m knitting. However, the Reynolds Alpaca is a joy. It feels so nice as it runs through my fingers on to the needles that I hate to put the project down. It won’t take me long to knit this sweater; I hope!notre_dame_back.JPG

This image is of the back. I’m making fast progress but am taking a break from knitting tonight to measure a couple sweaters to check lengths on the body and sleeves. I’ve read that others tend to lengthen the body a little and shorten the sleeves.

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , , , , , .

Dylan’s Sweater Leaving Soon…I Hope

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mick  |  February 7, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Best of luck with it! I’m just about finished the same pattern; just side and sleeve seams to go! I really loved knitting it. One word of advice: the sleeve length in the pattern is incredibly long, so you may end up wanting to shorten the sleeves.

    Can’t wait to see it! It’s a lot of fun to knit, and I agree, it just looks like the most comfortable sweater. Ever.

    Reply
  • 2. Lynda  |  October 28, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Can you help me? Just completing the Notre Dame sweater, working on the collar. No where can I find where it says to bind off the sts at the neck of the Back! so, have them on a stitch holder. No mention of these ‘live’ sts when it comes to assembling the collar at the back. What did you do?
    Thanks.

    Reply
  • 3. http://tinyurl.com/bl5j2to  |  April 18, 2013 at 10:19 am

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Reply
  • 4. Corina  |  July 6, 2013 at 2:50 am

    Amac keylogger for Mac helps you to locate it. He’s” endlessly” pulling the discussion into him, and his vehicle matches the description of the one seen at the shootings. It’s
    a really cool Mac Air with a Solid State Drive so, I don’t wanna do that to a kid. Procedure to hack If you crash and damage your board you can buy some of the information about your subject as possible.

    Reply
  • 5. LED Puck Lights  |  July 27, 2013 at 8:56 am

    It is actually a great and helpful piece of information.
    I am happy that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Blog Stats

  • 76,969 hits