A Little Knitting

September 22, 2008 at 3:40 am 4 comments

I just finished my first little knitted socks (my second pair, ever) and hat for our little one and thought I’d share. The hat may be too small, but we’ll find out later when we try it on him. I’m also going to line the hat with fleece because I know that this yarn isn’t nearly as warm as the caretakers would expect. Bulk and warmth- that’s what it is all about in Kostanai!

I’ve been using the Yankee Knitters basic sock pattern from Yankee Knitters Designs and “The Knitter’s Hand Book of Patterns” by Ann Budd. If you knit and you don’t have this book, you’ve got to get it. Great, simple, adaptable patterns for hats, gloves, mittens (my next attempt), socks, scarves, and sweaters. A fantastic resource!

Entry filed under: Kazakhstan Adoption, Knitting. Tags: , .

By the Way, What Day is It? Another Milestone Reached…Perhaps, Two

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  September 22, 2008 at 4:00 am

    awww how adorable! i love the colors!!!!! those are really really sweet. I am so impressed with your talent! I have some really cute knitted hats for Leeza I got at the Gap….SOMEONE knitted them, but not me. 🙂
    I, sadly, cannot even sew a button on. Yet, my aunt, and my grandma, are both INCREDIBLE quilters and design and hand stitch their own quilts. My aunt has quilt shows even. They made Leeza a gorgeous Kaz one that resembles the flag. I did not inherit their talent, or patience for such matters. However, perhaps in my old age I’ll pick it up. 🙂 I certainly never expected to be this happy , content, and patient in Kostanai for so long!! you are SO talented! your lil man is one lucky lil guy!!

    Reply
  • 2. Shannon  |  September 22, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Nice job Kelly on the sox and hat…I’m impressed! Thanks for sharing all your news, I appreciate it. Sounds like things are going well. I continue to wish you and Doug the best.

    Reply
  • 3. Tricia  |  September 24, 2008 at 4:49 am

    They are beautiful!

    Reply
  • 4. mum  |  September 27, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Just to let you know, we love you both. This will be the most beautiful and memorable time in your lives.

    Mum & Dad

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Kostanai Weather

September 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 76,972 hits